Home / Programme / Programme facts

Programme facts

Upon successful cooperation on the IPA Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Montenegro-Kosovo 2011-2013, the IPA Cross-Border Cooperation Programme Montenegro-Kosovo 2014-2020 was established as the new cross-border programme under IPA II.

The global objective of the programme is to improve the standard and quality of living of the people in the programme area through the environmentally sustainable and socially inclusive economic development of the region, with respect for its common cultural and natural heritage.

This will be achieved through joint projects that fall within the following programme thematic priorities (TP):

  • TP1: Promoting employment, labour mobility and social and cultural inclusion across the border;
  • TP2: Protecting the environment, promoting climate change adaptation and mitigation, risk prevention and management;
  • TP3: Encouraging tourism and cultural and natural heritage;

Programme specific objectives within the programme are:

  • Improve the access to the labour market;
  • Encourage socially vulnerable groups to participate in society;
  • Improve the environment, waste management and sustainable use of resources;
  • Reduce soil erosion and promote soil conservation;
  • Improve the volume, quality and visibility of tourism;
  • Promote and improve cultural and natural heritage and values;
  • To ensure the effective, efficient, transparent and timely implementation of the programme and awareness raising;

The programme area for the Cross-border Programme between Montenegro and Kosovo covers a territory of 8,725 km2 with a total population of about 706,823 inhabitants. The total borderline length is 75.6 km.

There are two border crossing points; in Kulla/Kula (on the road Rožaje–Pejë/Peć), which is also a customs point; and in Qakor/Čakor (on the road from Murino linking Plav and Pejë/Peć municipalities) that has been closed to traffic for the last fourteen years.

In Montenegro the eligible area cover 6,400 km2 and is composed of 12 municipalities or a total of 624 settlements including the capital city and 11 main towns. There are no administrative regions in Montenegro and the following are the municipalities represented in the programme area: The municipalities of Andrijevica, Bar, Berane, Bijelo Polje, Gusinje, Kolašin, Mojkovac, Petnjica, Plav, Podgorica, Rožaje and Ulcinj.

In Kosovo the eligible area covers 2,325 km2 and includes the West Economic Region, which is composed of the municipalities of Pejë/Peć, Istog/Istok, Klinë/Klina, Junik, Deçan/Dečani, Gjakovë/Đakovica.